2018-2019 Editorial Board


Christopher Chan

Hi folks, my name is Chris and I'm in my fourth year of a BSc in biology with a minor in history (I couldn't choose between the two so I'm doing both now). What brought me to Spectrum was its interdisciplinary approach which not only applies to the works we publish but also the awesome team behind Spectrum! When I'm off the clock, I enjoy listening to podcasts, hiking, and anything Reese's (Hershey's take a hint?)

Natalie Eng

My name is Natalie, I am a third-year undergraduate student in economics. In my spare time, you'll find me napping, I like to think of napping as a hobby--one that I am very passionate about. I am so excited to be a part of the Spectrum team and I look forward to hearing about your research! 

Queeny Wu

My name is Queeny, and I’m an undergraduate student specializing in Pharmacology. Despite being in the Faculty of Science, I am as passionate about the arts as I am about the sciences. Writing, reading, and watercolour painting are all a few of my favourite pastimes; as much as I love watching the borders of watercolour paint bleed into each other, I also love witnessing the bleeding of art into science or vice versa. 

Photos and Bios coming soon:

Abhi Agarwal

Nicole Smith

Susannah Mackenzie-Freeman

Keanna Wallace

Calvin Chan

Meghan Hodgson


Staff Advisor/Journal Manager

Crystal Snyder, Team Lead, Undergraduate Research Initiative (University of Alberta)


Faculty Advisor

Dr. Lisa Claypool, Associate Professor, History of Art, Design, & Visual Culture (Faculty of Arts, University of Alberta)



The Spectrum editorial board would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the following students in the early development and planning of the journal:

Thomas Jeffery (logo and OJS page customization)
Brittany Tetreault (Spectrum associate editor, 2017)
Daniel Walker (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2017)
Kyler Chittick (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)
Juanita Gnanapragasam (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)
Jamie Nisbet (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)
Sara Sarbar (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)
Amanda Schular (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)
Samantha Wesch (Spectrum planning committee 2015-2016)

Past editors (2017-2018):

Arden Burtnik
Tyler McDonald
Stefan Kaseram
Teresa Li
Meor Hashim
Liuba Gonzalez de Armas